RESTWORLD

Cowboys roam through an abandoned amusement park in the desert just outside Heidelberg: a leftover Wild West fantasy for gunslingers and recreational bandits. Where androids once lived out fantasies of longing, they now wonder what will remain when they can only talk about humans.
Based on motifs from the film »Westworld« by Michael Crichton (1973) and the television series of the same name (2016), the development of the play examines how science fiction narratives can negotiate possible futures today. And who actually distributes the roles in the Wild West?

»Restworld« is the first work of the Frankfurt duo F. Wiesel at the Theater und Orchester Heidelberg and their second collaboration with the author and journalist Dietmar Dath. In F. Wiesel's works, figure and object theater as well as the use of analog film animation technology form a focal point.

» JU: We have already been here.

HA: We have been here all the time. You argue that the only beings who can be role models for us, because they also program themselves, are humans. So we're supposed to play human in order to figure out where the similarities and the differences lie, and wether there may be something we could really do differently, new. And so on.

LA: No just "and so on". Don't stand like that, stand up and let's go. Where were we? «

Dietmar Dath. RESTWORLD

Play by: Dietmar Dath and F. Wiesel
Direction, concept and stage: Hanke Wilsmann, Jost von Harleßem
Puppeteer: Cali Kühner
Costumes: Naomi Kean
Sound Design: Rupert Jaud
Dramaturgy Michael Letmathe
Theater Pedagogy: Jeremy Heiß
with Sandra Bezler, Leon Maria Spiegelberg, Hendrik Richter, Jost von Harleßem, Cali Kobel

Premiere: 15. Oktober 2021 | Theater und Orchester Heidelberg Zwinger 1
further Dates and Tickets

19 - 21 November 2021 Atelierfrankfurt e.V.
installative version "Welcome to Restworld" at Open Studios

"Instead of focusing on equality - the desirable vision in Dietmar Dath's political worldview - people become murderers. Naomi Kean's costumes quote cowboy dreams. Actors Hendrik Richter and Leon Maria Spiegelberg not only engage in merciless duels. They cleverly shatter the familiar myths of Wild West films. Together with Sandra Bezler, they embody the memory of a past reality: "We are gunslingers. That's the design." In F. Wiesel's multimedia project, the machines take over. Dath and the collective find strong aesthetic images for this process. [...]
F. Wiesel translates Dath's political philosophy into a visual concept that transcends the boundaries of language. [...] The ensemble joyfully engages in the synthesis between acting and technology. "Restworld" shows the limits of progress, at the end of which could be destruction - or a new world in which humans integrate artificial intelligence into new models of society. "

Elisabeth Maier, fidena.de / 18.10.2021

"[...] Now good news follow from Heidelberg: Dath gave his text, based on Michael Crichton's film and series "Westworld" (1973/2016), into the hands of the resourceful collective F. Wiesel, in which Jost von Harleßem and Hanke Wilsmann design original formats for figure and object theater. In their concept, the combination of acting, video technology, installation, puppetry, media and robotics fit perfectly into Dath's multi-layered text. [...] Between Buffalo Bill, Paintball, Laserdrom and Disneyland, five agile and different protagonists argue, charge, repair and duel. [...] Conclusion: Ninety atmospheric as well as cleverly entertaining minutes of theater, which finally reap great cheers."

 Ralf-Carl Langhals, Mannheimer Morgen, 18.10.2021

A production of the Theater und Orchester Heidelberg.

RESTWORLD

Cowboys streifen durch einen menschenleeren Vergnügungspark in der Wüste vor Heidelberg: eine zurückgelassene Wild-West-Fantasie für Revolverhelden und Freizeit-Banditen. Wo einst Androiden Sehnsuchtsfantasien bespielten, machen sie sich jetzt Gedanken darüber, was bleibt, wenn sie sich von den Menschen nur noch erzählen können.
Ausgehend von Motiven des Films »Westworld« von Michael Crichton (1973) und der gleichnamigen Fernsehserie (2016) untersucht die Stückentwicklung, wie Science-Fiction-Erzählungen heute mögliche Zukünfte verhandeln können. Und wer verteilt im Wilden Westen eigentlich die Rollen?

»Restworld« ist die erste Arbeit des Frankfurter Duos F. Wiesel am Theater und Orchester Heidelberg und ihre zweite Zusammenarbeit mit dem Autor und Journalisten Dietmar Dath. In den Arbeiten von F. Wiesel bilden Figuren- und Objekttheater sowie der Einsatz analoger Filmtricktechnik einen Schwerpunkt.

» JU: Das hatten wir schon.

HA: Das hatten wir dauernd. Du sagst, die einzigen Wesen, die uns Vorbilder sein können, weil sie sich auch selbst programmieren, sind die Menschen. Also sollen wir Menschen spielen, damit wir rauskriegen, was sind die Gemeinsamkeiten und was sind die Unterschiede, und gibt’s vielleicht was, das wir wirklich anders machen könnten, neu. Und so weiter.

LA: Eben nicht „und so weiter“. Stellt euch nicht so an, stellt euch lieber hin und los geht’s. Wo waren wir? «

Dietmar Dath. RESTWORLD

Theaterstück von: Dietmar Dath und F. Wiesel
Regie, Konzept und Bühne: Hanke Wilsmann, Jost von Harleßem
Figurenspiel: Cali Kühner
Kostüme: Naomi Kean
Sounddesign: Rupert Jaud
Dramaturgie Michael Letmathe
Theaterpädagogik: Jeremy Heiß
mit Sandra Bezler, Leon Maria Spiegelberg, Hendrik Richter, Jost von Harleßem, Cali Kühner

Premiere: 15. Oktober 2021 | Theater und Orchester Heidelberg Zwinger 1
weitere Termine und Tickets

19.-21. November 2021 Atelierfrankfurt e.V.
installative Fassung „Welcome to Restworld“ bei den Open Studios

„Statt auf Gleichheit zu setzen – in Dietmar Daths politischem Weltbild die erstrebenswerte Vision – werden Menschen zu Mördern. Naomi Keans Kostüme zitieren Cowboy-Träume. Die Schauspieler Hendrik Richter und Leon Maria Spiegelberg liefern sich nicht nur gnadenlose Duelle. Klug zertrümmern sie jene Mythen, die man aus Wild-West-Filmen kennt. Gemeinsam mit Sandra Bezler verkörpern sie die Erinnerung an eine vergangene Wirklichkeit: „Wir sind Revolverhelden. Das ist das Design.“ In dem Multimedia-Projekt von F. Wiesel übernehmen die Maschinen die Macht. Für diesen Prozess finden Dath und das Kollektiv starke ästhetische Bilder. […]
Die politische Philosophie Daths übersetzen F. Wiesel in ein visuelles Konzept, das Grenzen der Sprache überschreitet. […] Lustvoll lässt sich das Ensemble auf die Synthese zwischen Schauspiel und Technik ein. „Restworld“ zeigt die Grenzen eines Fortschritts, an dessen Ende die Zerstörung stehen könnte – oder aber eine neue Welt, in der Menschen die künstliche Intelligenz in neue Gesellschaftsmodelle einbinden. „

Elisabeth Maier, fidena.de / 18.10.2021

“ […] Nun folgen gute Nachrichten aus Heidelberg: Dath gab seinen an Michael Crichtons Film und Serie „Westworld“ (1973/2016) angelegten Text in die Hände des kundigen Kollektivs F. Wiesel, als das Jost von Harleßem und Hanke Wilsmann originelle Formate für das Figuren- und Objekttheater entwerfen. In deren Uraufführungskonzept geht die Verbindung von Schauspiel, Videotechnik, Installation, Puppenspiel, Medien und Robotik nun passgenau in Daths vielschichtigem Text auf. […] Zwischen Buffalo Bill, Paintball, Laserdrom und Disneyland streiten, laden, reparieren und duellieren sich fünf agile wie unterschiedliche Protagonisten. […] Fazit: Neunzig atmosphärische wie klug unterhaltende Theaterminuten, die final großen Jubel ernten.“

 Ralf-Carl Langhals, Mannheimer Morgen, 18.10.2021

Eine Produktion des Theaters und Orchesters Heidelberg.